top of page
Search

Announcing the Winner of the 2023 IESR NFL Mock Draft Challenge

By: Mike Patt

Hello sports fans, and welcome back to the IE Sports Radio Blog. The 2023 NFL draft is officially in the books, and it was a doozy. Naturally, the 2023 IESR NFL Mock Draft Challenge is also in the books. For those that did not see or here, the challenge was for participants to predict the 31 first round picks in the draft with no trades. Scoring was determined by getting picks completely right or partially right, which seemed fair considering trades were not allowed. This is the third time we have done the challenge, and so far, giving fractional points for partially correct picks has not prevented players with more completely right picks from doing well.

In 2021, Set Point and SoCal Supreme Sports host Teran Rodriguez took home first place, aided by getting a few extra points later in the round. Last year, yours truly came out on top, crushing the competition by getting five of the top ten picks correct and nailing a few later picks as well. In 2023, the draft itself set the league record for most trades in a single draft, including one within the first three picks. Amazingly, that was not the moment that threw most of the mocks off. Several participants got 3 to 3.5 points in the first four picks. It was Seattle surprisingly taking a cornerback at 5, followed by Arizona trading with Detroit for pick 6 that really threw everyone off. It was utter chaos from there, with only a few getting a correct pick after the top 11.

Alas, without further adieu, it is time to announce our new champion. This year’s winner, and new owner of bragging rights and many shout outs…is….ADAM KARNIK! That’s right folks, our Chi-Town Weekly and Neutral Zone host who just welcomed his second child a month and a half ago is the 2023 IESR Mock Draft Challenge winner. Adam narrowly held off station host Larry Belmontes and myself thanks to a strong start and a couple of picks yielding fractional points in the middle of the round. Congratulations Adam, in a year where others struggled and a lot of conflicting reports came out right before the draft, you stuck to your guns and got the job done.

Be sure to check out Chi-Town Weekly on Mondays at 7PM CST/5 PM PST, as well as the Neutral Zone on Tuesdays at 8PM CST/6 PM PST, both hosted by Adam. My show, Let’s Wine About DMV Sports, will be airing on Friday at 9PM EST/ 6 PM PST. For Teran’s shows, Set Point will be airing on Monday at 9PM EST/6PM PST, and the SoCal Supreme Sports Show will be airing on Friday at 3PM EST/Noon PST. Be sure to check out all of the other awesome shows on our network, as well as the live calls on our partner station USRN. Shout-out to our Patreon supporters and all you loyal listeners that continue to help IESR grow. Thank you all for reading, and we will see you next time on IE Sports Radio; your direct feed for ALL that is sports.


4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page